

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR MICHAEL P. FLANAGAN STATE SUPERINTENDENT

February 6, 2014

MEMORANDUM

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents, Public School

Academy Directors and Nonpublic School Administrators

FROM: Carol Wolenberg, Deputy Superintendent

SUBJECT: 2013 Michigan Public Acts 186 and 187

Epinephrine Auto-Injectors

Michigan's Public Acts 186 and 187 require that each Michigan public and nonpublic school must have at least two epinephrine auto-injectors, commonly known as "epi-pens," in each school beginning with the 2014-2015 school year. Pursuant to these updated laws, the Michigan Department of Education (MDE), in conjunction with the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH), will provide updated guidelines to Michigan schools.

MDE and MDCH were directed to identify, develop, and adopt appropriate revisions to MDE's medication administration guidelines, including specification of training needs and requirements for the administration and maintenance of stock epinephrine auto-injectors. These guidelines will be provided to Michigan schools by June 2014. This law also requires a school board:

- to develop policies based on updated medication guidelines from MDE/MDCH.
- to have at least two employees trained to use an epinephrine auto-injector in each school.
- attempt to obtain funding or resources from an outside source to cover the cost of these epi-pens prior to applying to MDE for assistance.
- to annually report to MDE specific epinephrine auto-injector usage.

Public Act 186 and 187 may be found at:

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/htm/2013-PA-0186.htm and http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/publicact/htm/2013-PA-0187.htm.

Questions may be directed to Linda Meeder in the Coordinated School Health and Safety Programs unit at (517) 241-6905 or meederl@michigan.gov.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT DANIEL VARNER – SECRETARY • RICHARD ZEILE – TREASURER MICHELLE FECTEAU – NASBE DELEGATE • LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY KATHLEEN N. STRAUS • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER